FEHRL is governed by a General Assembly from whom a President and vice-President(s) are elected to serve for three years. The Board meets at least twice per year to conduct the business of FEHRL, and to ensure that the objectives are being vigorously pursued. The structure of FEHRL is described here.

The President, Vice-President(s) and other elected General Assembly members constitute a FEHRL Supervisory Board which has the function of overseeing the activities of the Association. 

The FEHRL Executive Committee (FEC) is responsible for the legal and contractual aspects of FEHRL operations. They supervise the on-going research programme (which is organised along the four SERRP V pillars) and appoint project managers. The FEC assess the risks and benefits of project proposals initiated by the Research Area Leaders and Research Coordinators especially the management and financial risk for the Association which they manage on behalf of the Board. The members of the FEC are the signatories on all FEHRL contracts.

The development of collaborative activities are organised through the FEHRL Research Area Leaders and Research Coordinators.  Research Coordinators (RC) from all institutes facilitate exchange on a wide range of research and technical matters concerning roads. RCs provide a flexible and effective link between the General Assembly and Presidency, FEC, Secretariat and the FEHRL Institutes.  RCs initiate Task Forces to assist in the formulation of activites on individual technical topics.

The FEHRL Secretariat in Brussels supports the activities of the Association and acts as focal point for the development of new opportunities for collaboration and knowledge dissemination.